30th Annual Groundhog Classic Golf Tournament

30th Annual Groundhog Classic Golf Tournament

The 30th Annual Groundhog Classic Golf Tournament was held at the Syracuse Country Club on August 23, 2019 with 72 golfers participating.  Orange and “Spam” prizes were again the order of the day (the official color and meat of Groundhog’s Day!).


The winners of the tournament are as follows:

  First Flight (65) Dick Kohler, Dennis Dermann, Ken Lamb


Second Flight – (63) Darin Davis, John Kowalski, Perry Stoner   

  Third Flight – (63) Jeremy McHugh, Steve Anderson, Kim Koluch


          Putt-Putt-Putt Contest – Bob Miller, Tim Burns, Paul Bures  

          Closest to Groundhog –  Tom McGowan

          Closest team to Pin #5–Jordan Rathke, George Gervase, Bob Wilhelm

          Longest Drive – John Kawalski

          Longest Putt –     Kyle Hershberger

          Closest to hole in 2 shoots    Darin Davis    

                 *SPAM Shoot Out within 2 flag lengths of hole #3 Lynn Schomerus, Jeremy McHugh, Rob Gerweck

Guess the Score of Featured Team:  Bob Brandt, David Lubben  


        Over $3,000 in prizes were awarded and a combined $1,810 was donated to Boy Scouts of America, Pheasants Forever Annual Youth Hunt and The Syracuse Lifters Club. 


        Mark your calendars for the Groundhog’s Day Celebration, which will be held Saturday, February 1, 2020.  The parade starts at 2:00 p.m. 

       Also, next year will be our 31st annual Groundhog Classic Golf Tournament on August 28, 2020!